Quick Links

Useful Links

Community Reviews

In preparation for the launch of our new website we invited members of our community to leave us a review. The response was overwhelming, here are just a few of the wonderful words people had to say about us.

Longroyde is a warm and welcoming school with wonderful teachers who work tirelessly to do what's best for its pupils. Mr Fox is always around to greets students in the playground with a smile and help parents with any questions or concerns. 

Sophie Errington, July 2020

 

We moved to the area last year; the school was really helpful and friendly. The teachers have been great and my children settled in really well. Special mention for Mrs Sladden who has been a rock for R1 and Mrs Geddies who go above and beyond to ensure she know the children and ensure they achieve.     

Sarah Louise, July 2020

 

I cannot praise Longroyde enough. From the moment I looked around it was clear how child focused they are and how much they truly care about each child. The school has so many different activities and classes for the children to enjoy. My child has attended for the past 2 years and has an amazing relationship with each member of staff and loves every day. It is clear how passionate each staff member is about their roles within the school. Everyone is so welcoming and all the children appear so happy and content while at the school. You almost get a sense of the school being more like a family with the children being very proud of their school and feeling cared for by an amazing staff team. There is also a lot of opportunities for each child to receive rewards and praise. Even through a pandemic the staff reminded positive and supportive and put on a range of virtual activities that the children could take part in. Never have I regretted my choice of school and would recommend to everyone.

Roxanne Woolridge, July 2020 

 

My son has been going to Longroyde Nursey for over 12 months. He settled straight away with Kim and Sara in the bungalow and with Miss Sykes & Mrs Barnfather when he moved over to the preschool nursery in September. The environment has been great for getting him used to the school day, I know he won’t be daunted or have any worries when he starts in Reception. When I ask him what he likes best her says the teachers and the chocolate pudding!

Elisabeth Verrier, June 2020

 

I have had 3 children go through this school and 2 who currently attend. The team at Longroyde Primary School are absolutely amazing in all areas. There is support with behaviour, work, strategies for helping at home, and home - school communication. I would highly recommend this school to anyone and everyone. I personally have had a lot of support from Longroyde Primary and all members of staff. Its just amazing!! Thank you to each and every one of you who have helped me and my family in the past. Much appreciation goes to the effort put in, especially recently due to Covid-19. Supporting its community above and beyond!  

Siobhan Stanton, July 2020

 

Lovely friendly helpful staff. Libby settled so well after moving school to be there. Mr Fox is always visible and willing to chat. I would highly recommend Longroyde.

Karen Purvis, (Libby and Charlotte Suttle’s Grandma), July 2020. 

 

I currently have 2 children attending Longroyde Primary School, one in infants and the other in the junior site. Both children are very happy at school, both are thriving in their learning and development thanks to a great team of staff at the school, all of whom are welcoming, professional and I know if I had an issue the head teacher would be more than happy to help. Keep up the great work!

Anna Roberts, July 2020

 

I currently have 2 children attending Longroyde and a 3rd child now in high school who also attended. I couldn't recommend this school any higher than I do, they truly are an amazing educational establishment and do everything they can to meet the needs of all pupils. I have also had the great opportunity of working with the school as a reading volunteer to provide one on one support to pupils to help advance their reading skills, this is just one of many provisions the school puts in place to help assist each individuals pupils needs to fill their full potential. The staff are amazing, from the teachers to the office staff to the caretakers and canteen team, they all go above and beyond to support pupils and parents alike. Fantastic school, could not imagine having my children in any other school. I highly recommend Longroyde Primary to any parents looking for a school for their child/children. 

Sammie Jade Richardson, July 2020

 

I had two children four years apart go through Longroyde. They are now 18 and 14 and still come back to help with PFA events- that in itself says a lot about the school. They were treated as individuals, had a good relationship with staff and had the chance to learn to play a musical instrument and join the school band. This gave them so many opportunities and they were always made to feel special, even if my son couldn’t really play much on that guitar!
The residential trips were way better than High School’s (trust me!) and they still have so many good memories. It was, and still is, a lovely school. 

Lisa Brown, July 2020

 

I would like to share what a lovely experience we have had with Longroyde Primary School after moving house just over a year ago with a year four child with dyslexia. I have nothing but good things to say about the support she has received, not just with her education but with her mental well-being. We have been welcomed into the school and been made to feel like part of the Longroyde School Family. The school has a great teaching plan which ensure the child has grasped the work learnt in the morning before moving on, giving the children time to go over the mornings work in the afternoon if needed. I love the schools love of music and has reasonably priced music lessons allowing any child who wants to learn the chance to learn and instrument .

The Nicholson Family, July 2020

 

I can’t praise Longroyde Primary highly enough. I have twins in year 1 who ended up at the school as a bit of a desperate accident as we weren’t happy with the school they got into and we lost our appeals for the schools we wanted. I am so delighted that this happened and we ended up at this gem of a school. I have been very unwell over the last year and the staff are like extended family to us. I have one child who is desperate to learn and another who really doesn’t want to! Both children have been catered to and have come on leaps and bounds in their time at school. Thank you so much Longroyde School - amazing!!"

Amanda Ogilvie-Berry, July 2002

 

My son is in Year 5 and has had a positive experience at Longroyde Primary School. All the staff are incredibly friendly and supportive towards the children and parents and will do their best to deal with any concerns. I would definitely recommend this school.

Corrie MacKinven, July 2020

 

Hi my son Benjamin as been coming since September last year. At first I was worried about him settling in as he used to go to nursery in a different school and every time I'd leave him he'd get upset and heart broken. We had a couple of weeks where we cried and got upset but the teachers used to take him from me which made it a bit easier, he has come on leaps and bounds since starting Longroyde and that to all the staff that are involved. If you ever have a problem they try there best to sort it. And a special thank you to Mrs Atkins for everything she done for my son always going above and beyond. A massive thank you to Mrs Sladdan she as been our rock with everything that went on, if it wasn't for her we would have had a load of upsets kids -she a diamond thank you Longroyde.

Joanne Durkin, July 2020

 

Longroyde provide a safe and clean environment for my child. The teachers connect well with every student to get the very best out of them. The school have a talent for recognising children’s strength and weaknesses to be able to focus on making children the best they can be. Excellent choice of extra curricular activities. Five stars all around.

Catherine Finch, July 2020

 

My daughter was unable to get into school closest to us due to a house move and we were not happy with where she had been allocated. We had a look around Longroyde and immediately liked it, as did she. 2 years later and we are happy with our choice and she is doing well here. She loves the teachers and support staff. Mr Fox is a fantastic Headteacher, you can tell he cares a lot about everyone in his school. The PFA hold lots of great events for the school too, which gives the children lots of things to look forward to throughout the year. In her words, "Longroyde makes me feel safe and happy. 

Lucy Hauck, July 2020

 

We first met Mr Fox in 2014 when we needed to relocate our family back to Yorkshire. Over the last 6 years 3 of our children have gone through Longroyde and our youngest just has 3 years left. We can not praise Mr Fox and his staff enough. The support, care, attention we have received as a family unit has constantly been first class. The kids thrived and have moved up to high school with ease. Friends they have made are still with them, teachers they had are still fondly thought of. Two very happy parents and a content family. 10/10 and 5 stars is not enough but all we can offer!

The Williamson’s, July 2020

 

My little lad recently started at Longroyde Primary School and from the very first day all staff and teachers have been so welcoming and friendly to both children and parents. It is clear to see that the teachers are very good at their jobs and it shows through them that they really enjoy what they do. The extra PFA events are fantastic and really well organised and these are loved by my son also.

Heather Ellis, July 2020

 

Longroyde school has a great team of teachers. I have always found them all very approachable,kind and helpful. Mr Fox stands on the gates every day and welcomes parents and children to school. All my children have attended Longroyde, my oldest been 21, 14 and my youngest 6 and I have never had any problems with the school. They have all had nothing but a great experience at school and I cannot recommend this school enough.

Pauline Mountain, July 2020

 

Ofsted says Longroyde is 'Good'. Longroyde is an Outstanding School in the eyes of a parent and child! ....and I told 'Ofsted' my thoughts on their last visit. I transferred my son from our local 'Ofsted Outstanding School' to Longroyde, when he was in Year 4 when he asked to change schools. He is now in Year 6 and I wish I had made the move earlier. Since starting in Year 3 at our local school, round the corner from our home, that parents move house, lie and fight to get their child into, I struggled getting my son to go to school 'normally'. The anxiety starting on a Sunday evening, the upset, tears and fighting on a Monday morning, the running off on the 'school run' and finally clinging to the school gates in distress. But no one ever batted an eye lid. No one commented or offered help, because once in school he was the model pupil with lots of friends. My main priority for a school is for my child, is to be happy, content and looked after, in the environment they are learning in. Pastoral care is key. School plays such a massive part in your child's life, with the majority of their week there. A happy child will strive to learn and grow.
Longroyde has given that to my son. From the moment we walked thought the doors on our initial visit, every member of staff was attentive and caring. From meeting Mrs Hall and Mrs Cryer in the office and then to the wonderful Head Teacher, Mr Fox. But this care and support has continued throughout my sons time at Longroyde. As soon as he walks through those school gates on a morning, if something is not quite right, a member of staff will pick up on it and ask the simple, caring question to both of us ' is everything ok?' My son knows that there is someone always there that cares and is looking out for him, that he is 'number one'.Longroyde is inclusive. It also cares about the parents and cares. 'Their doors are always open'. We can share and celebrate in what our children are doing. We can attend events and we are always communicated to and receive wonderful weekly 'news letters' with photos of our children talking part in school activities and achievements. So much care and passion goes into these. Obviously everyone, from 'Ofsted', to the school and the parents wants greats learning results for the children and it is what schools are assessed on. Although this is not my main criteria for choosing a school, I am very happy with the way he is being taught and progressing and is in top sets for both Maths and English - as I said, happy child! Thank you so much to every member of staff at Longroyde. You can see you are proud to work at such an amazing place and help our children grow and I am proud to send my son to your school. 

Jayne Boyle, July 2020

 

Well what can I say but simply an amazing school. I have 2 boys, one in year one and one in year 5. They have been at this school just over 12 months and it was the best move for them . Since coming here they have come on in leaps and bounds both academically and socially. The facilities are fabulous, from the amazing outdoor area for key stage 1 to the huge field for key stage 2 on the other site. The boys especially like the little touches of toast in a morning after breakfast. After coming here from another school for various reasons to do with them not being academically challenged to coming here goes to show what a huge difference can be made in the right school. The head is hands on. He is there on a morning to greet the children and again when they leave. He knows the names of all the children, don't ask me how he does it but it's a wow from us!Well done Mr Fox and his amazing team.

From Lisa Parvaz & the boys, July 2020

 

My eldest Libby-Grace started in year 2 now in year 4 I was very worried about how she would settle in making new friends etc. but settled well - her and her sister love the school, I'm very impressed with how welcoming the staff are with the children when dropping off you can see by other children also its a enjoyable happy place to be. Definite score of 5.

Clare Purvis, July 2020 

 

This has been a brilliant school for my children. The standard of education has been very good with great teachers and a lovely ethos. My daughter is coming to the end of her primary years and will be leaving to go to high school at the end of this academic year and my son will be returning to school in year 4. Both of them have been incredibly happy throughout and have thoroughly enjoyed their time at Longroyde Primary. They have been able to grow as individuals and recognised for their achievements not only in school but also out of school. Longroyde Primary in my opinion is very good at acknowledging that life at school is not always about academic achievement and that children shine in all different areas as well as in their hobbies. There is a good range of after school/ additional activities such as football, judo, boxing and the opportunity to learn a musical instrument as well as events such as school discos, music concerts and school trips. We have over the years been very impressed with the thought and dedication that goes into all the various activities and events organised by the staff and the PFA. They always offering excellent after school clubs which for working parents is a real benefit. Both children love going to the breakfast/ after school and again looked forward to going before and after school and would often be disappointed if they weren’t going! My son has just enjoyed his first year at the junior site and had adapted very well , I am confident when he returns in Year 4 this will continue and he will be very happy in his remaining years at Longroyde. My daughter has really enjoyed her primary years and will no doubt look back with fond memories of the experiences she has had. I am thankful she has been given such great opportunities to explore many different aspects of her education with wonderful members of teaching staff who have prepared her incredibly well for her onward journey to high school.

Samantha Young, July 2020

 

Brilliant school. Friendly, helpful staff who care about the children and who are contactable. A headteacher who is accessible and knows all the children. Children are educated in a supportive environment where they are encouraged to achieve their potential alongside the pastoral care creating well rounded citizens.

Year 5 parent (or I guess Year 6 this is published) or Catherine, July 2020

 

My son joined half way through year 3 from another school, since joining Longroyde he has thrived, has lots of friends and the school and staff are amazing. My other son started in reception last September at the top site where the staff and kids are equally as amazing, keep up the good work.

Rebecca Grant Mardell, July 2020